The Scent of a Rose

red-rose

Every Friday night my husband and I hang out in Fells Point because this is what we enjoy doing for our date night. We love to hang out on the boardwalk because the atmosphere is wonderful and we enjoy the water as well as the people.  During the course of the evening, a rose peddler interrupted our date temporarily to persuade my husband to buy a me a rose.  My husband, not wanting to disappoint the peddler, complied and purchased three beautiful long stemmed red velvet roses.  I was pleasantly surprised and instantly delighted.

The scent of the roses were very potent and heady.  Not only were they beautiful to behold but the scent alone quickly changed and charged the atmosphere.  I began to look at the roses symbolically and I was suddenly reminded of the trinity, The Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit.  I didn’t share that revelation with my husband but I did reveal to him that ironically I suddenly remembered that I was actually carrying a one-quarter ounce bottle of ‘Rose of Sharon” anointing oil.  We proceeded to anoint ourselves with the Rose of Sharon anointing oil and became saturated with the scent of Roses.  OMG the feeling was indescribable.  I never realized that the scent of a rose could be so euphoric.

As we were bathing in the essence of the Roses I was reminded of The Song of Solomon 2:1 that says “I am the Rose of Sharon, and the lily of the valley.”  I found out that the Sharon was a plain, a level tract extending from the Mediterranean to the hill country to the west of Jerusalem.  This plain called Sharon was celebrated for its beauty and fertility.  The rose that is spoken of is actually being celebrated in Song of Solomon because the flower is being described as the beauty of a young woman.

I did a little research and found out that a red rose is the external symbol of love.  Love, desire and passion are closely associated with the red rose.  The meaning of the rose must be true because the experience left us feeling alive and one with God.  If you are ever feeling alone and depressed take a whiff of a red rose and it will turn your world upside right!

This experience reminded me of another scripture that rings true today, when the Lord said “I will never leave you nor forsake you”-Hebrews 13:5.  In the midst of every evil and ugly thing that is happening in these last days, God is still forever present.  I believe that He is the Rose of Sharon.  He wanted my husband and I to know that He still loves us, and I mean ALL OF US!

Visit Robin’Spiritual Nest at www.spiritualnest.net and purchase your own bottle of the Rose of Sharon and tell me about your experience.  Here is the link: http://www.spiritualnest.net/index.php?module=productsearch&_logmode=Y&query=Rose+of+Sharon&product_config=

Do you think that the Rose of Sharon is a symbol for Jesus?  Send me your comments by responding to this blog or blog me at www.spiritualnest.com and let me know.  Let’s talk about the Scent of a Rose.

In the meantime check out this captivating story.  Click on the link below:                    The Rose of Sodom-112987

http://www.spiritualnest.net/index.php?module=viewitem&item=112987

THIS, THAT and the OTHER is at www.spiritualnest.com

If you have access to the internet you have access to the Nest

www.spiritualnest.net

Published in: on March 29, 2013 at 11:29 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://1nest.wordpress.com/2013/03/29/the-scent-of-a-rose/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Reblogged this on Robin'Spiritual Nest and commented:

    When is the last time you smelled the Roses?


Leave a Reply

